10 Miles

Standard

I ran ten miles this morning.  That’s right, ten.  T-E-N.  The big 1-0. 

I realize that a lot of people run a lot more miles than that.  But for me, it is a milestone.  A personal goal I have been working toward.  Such a nice round number.  We humans like round numbers, don’t we?

In fact, a round number is what got me started running last year.  It was late winter and I was staring at the calendar.  By the end of spring I would be thirty.  That’s right, thirty.  T-H-I-R-T-Y.  The big 3-0.

Age has never really bothered me before.  In fact, it wasn’t really the age itself that was bugging me then.  I don’t mind telling people my age, if they ask.  (Although they really shouldn’t, I mean, didn’t their parents teach them any manners?)  I’ve never felt compelled to fudge the numbers at all.  To me, it’s merely a mathematical equation.  Today’s date minus your birth date equals your age.  Black and white, no big deal.

But here I was, realizing my twenties were quickly dwindling.  And instead of looking back feeling like I had been in my prime for the past decade, I was feeling slow and squishy.  If that was my prime, was it even more downhill from here?  Yikes!

Don’t get me wrong, some great things happened in my twenties:  got married, did a lot of traveling, had two amazing kids, etc.  But physically, I wasn’t exactly on top of my game.  I had some spurts of exercise and eating well, but never managed to sustain it for more than a few months.  I tend to be a very “all or nothing” kind of person, which is not the most balanced approach to fitness.  And I knew I didn’t want to spend the next ten years in the same hot-and-cold cycle.

So, I decided to try something I had always hated before.  I started running.  Well, sort of.  Mostly a slow, painful jog interspersed with many long segments of walking.  (I loosely followed the “Couch to 5k” program, which I highly recommend for beginners.)  In order to stick with the program, I signed up for my first 5K race.  And the journey began …

More on that later, but for today, I’m going to bask in the glory of my 10 miles.  And take a nap.

4 responses »

  1. Wow…I like it! The beginning of the running addiction is so hard and nothing like an addiction isn’t it. I’m glad to see you toughed it out through the part that most people quit at. Now you are a runner. Ten miles is nothing to sneeze at! You are officially trained for a half marathon for the first time in your life!!! Congrats!

  2. Thanks Eva! The key for me was to have a date deadline (like a race), and a plan that was realistic and flexible. And when I slip up for a day, or even a week, I just keep going.

Leave a Reply

