I’m Good Enough, I’m Smart Enough, and Doggone It, People Like Me!

Standard

It’s less than 48 hours until I toe the starting line of my very first half marathon…the time period when self-doubt is starting to creep in.  My training hasn’t gone exactly as planned this summer, and I did not log as many miles (or do as much cross-training) as I’d hoped.  And the fact that my husband has been moping around because his training has gone pretty poorly is not helping!

So it’s time to pull out my Stewart-Smalley-inspired self affirmations, and get my game face on!  Instead of focusing on what I haven’t been able to do, I need to fill my head with what I have accomplished during the past 4 months:

    • Since officially starting my training plan, I have completed 36 runs:  11 speed workouts, 16 tempo runs, and 9 long runs.  A conservative estimate puts me at just over 200 miles total.
    • At the beginning of the summer my long run was 5 miles, and the thought of more than doubling it seemed impossible.  Two weeks ago I ran 14 miles and I was not even sore the next day!
    • I set a new PR (personal record) of 28:08 at a 5K distance, significantly faster than the 30:00 goal I had set for myself before the race.  And this was at the beginning of the summer, before doing all of those speed workouts.
    • I competed in my first 10K, and came in under my goal of one hour, with a time of 59:21, despite temperatures nearing 80 degrees … and passed several runners in the last mile.
    • I have lost 10-15 pounds and 1-2 dress sizes in the process.  I am lighter and leaner, a good thing for a distance runner.
    • I ran in the rain, in the wind, in the heat, and whatever else mother nature threw at me … and liked it!
    • I did all of the above while avoiding any major injury.  So I have to feel good about being a “smart” runner, building my mileage gradually and recovering properly.

    Now that I look back on this summer and all that I’ve accomplished, I am really looking forward to Sunday morning.  My strategy is pretty simple:  start slow, take early walk breaks, and finish strong.  I don’t have a specific time goal, just to cross the finish line with a smile on my face.  I know I can do it because I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, people like me!
5 responses »

  1. Melissa, your blog entry inspired me. I didn’t start running until I was in my 60’s, and have done only 5 K’s and none lately. But your focus on all the training that you have done for a specific event instead of something you haven’t done is an approach I haven’t used to get inspired to do more. Have been walking lately, but running does always make me feel better if I just make myself do it.

    I know you’ll do well in that half marathon and if it’s here in Northern Ohio, you will have beautiful weather. Enjoy!

    Incidentally, we have a mutual friend, Dean Scouloukas.

    • Thanks Eileen, nice to “meet” you! I’m honored to have inspired you. But don’t say that you’ve done ONLY 5K’s… a 5K is still an awesome accomplishment. Keep up your walking, run if you feel like it, and just keep moving.

      My half marathon is on the Towpath trail, so yes, it should be a beautiful run tomorrow. Thanks for the good vibes!

Leave a Reply

